A Crash-Course Quantum Physics for IT Projects

The fact that I am able to write three separate postings on one day says something about my schedule for today. But I had a little bit of time left today to read a most wonderful article about Quantum Physics ( http://arstechnica.com/science/guides/2010/01/a-tale-of-two-qubits-how-quantum-computers-work.ars ). Wow! Hoppa. There is quite a leap.

Why I read this article is because of multiple reasons. I had time to kill. Not because I am not busy, because I am, but more because I needed to stay awake. Now, if someone reads about Quantum Physics to stay awake, you know what kind of day it is.

Another reason is that I am always interested in learning new things, and I always wanted to read a little bit about Quantum Physics to at least know what people are talking about. So I read this article, and I found myself able to actually understand what it is about, and even what the basis is.

I develop a lot of the time, for my own company, for the company I work for, for clients and even for a second company I own that is a photo studio. And sometimes during development I reach a point that you know there must be something there that should make everything more logical. Programming is quite 2-dimensional. You work a lot with lists (Arrays) or grids, but even if you add multiple layers with it, it still are lists nonetheless, only in more directions.

For example. I can write a variable simply as var blueBall:Ball= new Ball();in ActionScript for example. For the non-developers, I created a ball named blueBall. We all know it is a ball. We can add properties to it like blueBall.color = yellow; alright, the name now does not make sense, but it is possible to have a yellow ball with the name blueBall. You can add things like blueBall.bouncyness = great!;which means that this is a great bouncy ball, which is yellow and its name is blueBall.

But I am still describing it as being a Ball and I just add multiple dimensions to it by defining it’s properties. But the ball exists since the moment I wrote var blueBall:Ball = new Ball(); It is a ball. At least, from my perspective. But what if for example the way the light bounces of the ball at your angle, it appears to be green. In your perspective it is a green ball. That is not because you are wrong, it is simply true. The ball might have different states; a Yellow and a Green state.

This is not a completely correct description of on of the basics, but very close. What it means is that one object can have a multitude of states at the same time, while normal physics only allow two states; true or false, based on an observation (measurement).

Or, in standard programing, this would happen:

blueBall.color = yellow  which is true, because that is what we programmed a little while ago.

blueBall.color = green is false. Because it is already blue.

But in quantum physics this might be absolutely a possibility:

blueBall.color == yellow which is true

blueBall.color == green which also can be true

Now, that makes things a lot easier if that would be introduced in programing, because the possibilities would be endless. The problem is, it will also make it a lot more difficult to maintain. And not to give a lesson in Quantum Physics here, but to relate it right now on the IT world and IT-business world, it is actually happening a lot of times. They say that Quantum Physics is still a theory, because it is as easy as to acknowledge its existence, as to disprove it.

I, on the other hand, have unbeatable proof that it exists. Absolutely, undeniable proof that one element can be in a multiple number of states at exactly the same time, just different by measurement: One of the projects I work with (the Mammoth one described in the posting before) is per perspective: a utter failure (mine), just a small amount of visitors (like 2 million) away from being the most amazing thing ever (Owner), an enormous pain in the *** (content writers), a waste of server space (administrator), a waste of time (visitors).

Not only proves that the basics of Quantum Physics, but more proof, also here the mere observation changes the state of the element itself; when I mention the owner the outcome of the observation, believe me, the state of the project immediately changes, for me and for him 😉

 

Leave a Reply

