There is a good reason why I like photography!

NO! No! No! No! It is enough!

There are so many things I love about working with computers, the web, media, etc… but I have had enough coffee today to see things clearly now: building anything for the web is like building a house that should have a lifespan of 100 years, on the wintery frozen Delaware river: At one moment you know it is going to sink.

No matter how good your house is, how sturdy, and even if you make sure it will also float… it fill lose its foundation and become quite useless at one time.

Websites that were built for IE5 ten years ago are mostly useless right now, and if you follow my Flash rant a bit, you have there another good example. A thing that works perfect on PC’s, might not work on MAC’s, and might not even be visible on a phone or tablet.

Sounds ‘normal’? Nope. I am done with agreeing with that. Internet should be the platform, and everything that says it’s ‘internet capable’ should be that indeed. Anyway, I will not rant too long about this.

Because, besides IT, two other things keep me busy, and one of those has been fed to me by my wife; Antiques. She will be opening her store soon, and has been successful in trading antique furniture and collectibles for a couple of years now. And it is pretty simple; there is a server, chair or table, let’s say 120 years old… and it is still exactly that.

A table + 120 years = still a table. No relativity theory necessary.

It is pretty stable. But a computer, the whole virtual world thing, it is simply pretty unstable since it’s foundations are always shifting.

But, antiques, even though they can be pretty (and extremely heavy  – I have to admit) they are a little bit too out of my range of professional interest. No, I have my own ‘safe haven’ if I need to get away from the always evolving and devolving world of IT; photography.

Not only because I like photography; it is a snapshot. And it will stay exactly the same. A photo doesn’t require updating; worse, it loses it’s value if it actually is updated over the times. It will lose it’s core functionality; showing what was.

A photo taken in a split second might last for years, triggering memories, emotions and make the viewer relive a certain experience. It is a nice outlet if you spend a lot of time working on things that never can be really finished.

And still, a photo can so easily be incorporated in a web production… because, I do have to admit, the fact that tomorrow the world of IT might be completely different again, does keep it all interesting. Ah, best of both worlds.

Leave a Reply

