My Identity Crisis is Red Today

It was a sad day yesterday, and today, and also will be tomorrow. It happened when I received a call from my car mechanic that the repair of my beloved Town Car would take longer since my whole exhaust needs to be replaced. Damned iron plate on the road to the Poconos last summer that decided to trash my car. Grrr.

The problem was, simply, the car had no problem with the damage, but now that inspection-time has arrived, it will simply not pass the emissions test. So, I have to just swallow this bitter pill, and face the fact that I am without my trustworthy American Roller – and the repair bill. Yikes!

So, I got onto the web, and reserved a temporary replacement car. Which almost went flawlessly, but not with enough trouble to dedicate a separate posting to that here – yet. And although I love the large-sized luxury sedans, a replacement car can be anything for me, so I also made a budget decision and I got a Chevy Cruz.

And there is today’s tie-in. You know, this is actually a pretty well designed car. Pretty powerful, nice looks and interior for a smaller car, and is technically very up to date. And does a lot better with its 34mpg compared to my averaging 20mpg Town Car. I actually got even a more psyched-up edition, bucket seats, alloy wheels, and all the technical and audio wishes you could have.

So, although it is smaller, it has everything speaking for it. I liked even the fire-engine red color.

But….

I just can’t like it.

And that has nothing to do with that it is a smaller car or a brand that I don’t appreciate that much. Hey, Chevy builds good cars, their solid, they just miss something that I find important. When you drive the three hours a day I do, a car should be more than just good. It should be your buddy, your pal. Because it is the location I am in most of the time outside of work and my bed.

And here is the problem that I have with automation on the web… because it is often the same thing. A lot of clients have this formula in their head why their idea is amazing and will be successful. But this is the problem; Yes, you might have a perfect product in mind, put it in the market with the right promotion… still, it might not be working out. There is no formula for success in automation.

The reason is that although automation might greatly improve efficiency, security and functionality. It is not generating passion or personality. And not everything needs that, but passion and personality, or the experience of individuality, is something that attract people. We are emotional beings, so, we make decisions and set favorites based on what we like, or what we decide to like. And that might not always be efficient.

Like the Town Car compared to a Cruz; everything except comfort and size point hugely in favor of the Cruz. It just does not work for me. I would feel horrible in the car if I had to spend three hours a day in it. Even if it logically is better and way more efficient in almost every aspect.

It is the reason why Craigslist is way more popular than for example eBay classifieds, while the latter one is way more efficient than the first. It is not about being technically better, it is about this unspoken element. Call it habit, a favorite, passion or whatever.

Efficiency works on everything that we are not personally related to. My anti-virus and anti-malware needs to do its work the best way possible, and I will change brands in a heartbeat if I see one is better than the other. My cell-phone carrier, backup systems or home security.

But not everything. Things I use for myself, need to be what I like. Websites, newspaper, movies…

And this is hard to sell to some clients who ask for advice. We had a project that was featured on the home page of one of the most visited sites in the US for over 2 years. And the product was technically advanced compared to competitors. We even were featured very favorable in many news broadcasts… and we did get traffic. But we just didn’t keep the customers compared to the massively used competitors. We did not ask for more information, and we had a loyal base of clients, but just could not get there.

Sometimes people like other things because they simply do. No reason given. And who can blame them?

Leave a Reply

