My Redefined Opinion About The Cloud

It might not yet be perfect, but it is a hell of a lot better than buying it.

I am a very happy camper!

Yes, I am. It is like the Internet all over again; about 20 years ago I didn’t really ‘believe’ that any kind of computer networking would really ever become ‘real big’ (Ha! There goes your trust in my judgment ūüėČ ), and I had the same feeling about the cloud about 10 years ago.

I was introduced to the concept of the cloud by a¬†colleague¬†of mine who presented the network computer around 1996, which is more or less the Chrome OS that Google is pushing now. But along came for me the idea of not so much sharing the technical resources, but file based resources. Look, it actually existed a long time ago. In 1997 I was introduced with Visual SourceSafe, which made sure that multiple people could collaborate with files on the network server while still maintaining accessibility and version control. Heck, let’s go all the way back to the first file stored on a server through a network.

But I mean, the¬†concept¬†was something that dawned on me then. And I did not like the idea. I like my individuality. What is mine is mine. I don’t like SaaS, doing everything online, having everything stored online. I want to be in total control! I want world domination (on my own computer).

Sooo…. I like completely on my own computer… right? Well, then where is it that my posting about SkyDrive comes in? Yes, I have found a good balance now with using the cloud that is comfortable for me, profitable for my company, and still secure. I use Exchange for my email, Sharepoint for my team collaboration, Office 365 for my latest versions of the office tools and SkyDrive to store easy accessible files like my portfolio, so I can always tag the latest versions along on my tablet, wherever I go, and finally, I have my default back-ups encrypted using Carbonite as a last line of defense.

But, the rest? I keep my backups locally and encrypted remotely. It took some time to find out the right balance, but I think this might be it.

And I used to be a big fan of having my software tools and OS’s boxed at home. Oh, I loved to have all the official looking boxes on the bookshelf. It also looks important to clients. But, that is a bit old-fashioned by now.

Yesterday I finally signed up for Adobe Creative Cloud. Which, just like Office 365 allows me always to download all the latest versions of the Adobe tools, while also having a online storage available from within the apps, though not limited to.

In my line of work, Adobe is simply King and Ruler. Sure, I hear the complaints about Acrobat safety and I have written many postings about my pride, support but also declined interest in using Flash. Nonetheless, if you work in the creative of photography area, Adobe simply delivers¬†the¬†tools. Don’t get me wrong, there are nowadays other good tools available, some that come close… but still, no one matches what tools like Photoshop, Illustrator or After Effects can do.

Not only that. I have over 20 years of training and experience in both Photoshop and Illustrator, so even if there would be tools that could deliver the exact same quality; I still would prefer Adobe over it, simply because of the familiarity.

And, although I was hesitant at first, I do like how the Creative Cloud is working out. I do most editing of my files in Adobe tools. Well, I can safely say I use all production tools from within the Creative Suite family. And the Creative Cloud is there to support that. It is not really made for non-creative productions, but for creative productions, it works pretty well. And although I thought ‘it would be another cloud service’, it actually is a nice tool as temporary production storage.

I never thought I would mention these things 20 years ago:

‘Yay! for the Internet, Yay! for the cloud!’

We’re not there yet, but we are getting a bit closer. I think it is very important though, for each and every one, to find out what the best and most secure way is to use it.

Leave a Reply

