Just One Reason Why I Will Upgrade To Windows 8

And suddenly… everyone hates Windows 8. I don’t know what happened, but in the last couple of weeks, I have seen all the mostly positive sounds about Windows 8 flip around and I hear more and more negative things about the upcoming operating system even in the press. I, ah, don’t know what happened.

This posting is not about defending an operating system before it is released, I have personally not worked with the beta yet. I usually don’t, my working machines are too much needed in the working environment I work in to run such a test on. I will switch though as soon as Windows 8 is released. But it has nothing to do with what the press writes.

But I was surprised. Microsoft launched a very successful introduction of the upcoming ‘Surface’ tablets some weeks ago, and it added extra awe upon the critically well received Metro style part of Windows 8. One positive thing on top of the other. And then, scccchhhhhhhllip! It tripped. And without any good reason the public opinion seems to have changed. I am actually fascinated with it.

Is it because there is too much waiting time between the announcing and the release? I really have no clue.

Now, as you have noticed. I mentioned I will upgrade anyway, no matter what the the public opinion is. Why? Oh, simple, I have been hanging around with Microsoft long enough to trust them, and to know that a version upgrade will contain enough essentials that an upgrade is always worth it.

AH! I hear you! Yes, Sir, On the last row! What did you say? Haven’t I learned from Windows 98 and ME?

A good question, but I think I will answer your question by rephrasing it:

Do you think Microsoft has learned from Windows ME and Windows 98.

People who have been introduced with Windows 98 and Windows ME now all the issues. For me personally, Windows 98 was the real low point. It was unstable, weird, a strange successor to Windows 95. But still, working in a business, I was not running Windows 98 anyway. Windows NT buzzed like a happy little hummingbird and Windows 2000 was an excellent follow up. I was so happy with Windows 2000 that I also installed it on my home computers.

People who are known with the history of Windows know that for business and enterprise solutions, Windows 98 and ME came even with a Microsoft warning that they were not meant for business use, but for home use only. And they simply were invented to migrate to the NT platform, which is Unix based, and still is the platform for Windows Vista, and 7.

Or, in other words, NT 3.1, NT 4.0, 2000, XP, Vista and Windows 7 all have been running on this solid platform that never has brought me any harm. And for the time being, were stable and consistent. So, in that respect, they have earned my trust for Windows 8.

Also, I have always been a happy user of Windows Vista. I never understood the problems with the public opinion about Vista. Sure, was it a big user-experience upgrade from XP? Nah. I don’t think 7 is either. But that goes all the way back to NT. It is all still the taskbar oriented OS.

And you know what, an OS doesn’t need to impress me. Better yet, I prefer if it doesn’t. Just like having a minivan. You don’t drive it because you want to stand out from the crowd. You drive it for the family or hauling stuff around without wanting a truck. It needs to be reliable and good. My wife drives a 8-year-old Chrysler Voyager. Sure, it is plastic inside, it makes noises while it drives… but it drives smoothly and does exactly what she wants it to do. The thing is a mess, but, she loves it and uses it each and every day for her business.

That is what I need Windows to be. I don’t care what it looks like, it needs to work. It needs to be able to keep my computer safe, run stable and have my programs run without a problem. That’s it.

What my reaction will be working with the Metro-part on a desktop? As far as I know it is something you can turn off, or bypass. So I don’t really care. For a $40 upgrade to the professional edition? I am taking it. No questions asked.

 

Leave a Reply

